Farewell, Lolapps

Today marks my last day at 6waves Lolapps. 6waves Lolapps was formed last July as the result of a merger between 6waves, a Hong Kong-based publisher of social games, and Lolapps, the company I co-founded 4 years ago. On Monday this week we let go substantially all of the development staff, and today is the end of my short transition-out period.

It’s been a crazy ride of ups and downs and it feels very strange that it’s come to an end. I’m proud of the culture that we built, and it was especially evident this week as suddenly-former employees banded together to commiserate and find new companies to call home. I’m also very proud of the products we built, from the well-tuned viral apps in the early days (Quiz Creator and Gift Creator) to the envelope-pushing games we made more recently (Ravenwood Fair and Ravenskye City). And I’ve thoroughly enjoyed being part of an amazing team of talented, fun, and ambitious people.

I’ve learned more than I could have imagined and look forward to cataloging that over the coming few weeks.

What I’m doing next: still to be determined. What I do know: I want to start another company, and I want to try something very different. Check out the markets I follow on AngelList to see the general direction.

Countless thanks to Annie Chang, Kamo Asatryan, Kavin Stewart, Arjun Sethi, AJ Cantu, Justin Rosenthal, Cory Virok, Vivek Tatineni, and the rest of the Lolapps team for an amazing four years. I can’t wait to see what we all come up with next.

5 thoughts on “Farewell, Lolapps

  1. I wish you the best on your future venture! A new chapter in life is always exciting and fun. Using all your prev. experience will surely make the journey just as unique as the first. We never stop learning and should always be determined. Keep it up!

    Reply
  2. Well done, Brian!! “I press on toward the goal to win the prize for which God has called me Heavenward in Christ Jesus. All of us who are mature should take such a view of things.” Phil 3:14-15….Love ya, Gr & Gr

    Reply
  3. Pingback: Blog » 6waves Lolapps co-founder Brian Rue, CPO Arjun Sethi say buh bye

Leave a Comment

